Our History

The Illinois Fire Chiefs Secretaries Association was founded in September, 1980, when a group of ten secretaries from across the State of Illinois gathered for the purpose of determining the educational needs of the Fire Service Secretary.

Our founders were:

  • Marjorie Coonradt, Rockford Fire Department
  • Pat Phillips, Palatine Fire Department
  • Maryileen Heard/Henrici, Elk Grove Village Fire Department
  • Dolores Juzwik, Glenview Fire Department
  • Carole Cook, Lisle-Woodridge Fire Protection District
  • Gail Hart, Arlington Heights Fire Department
  • Bernice Feinendegen, Skokie Fire Department
  • Dolores Reschke, Libertyville Fire Department
  • Marlene Hajek, Mount Prospect Fire Department
  • Vera Massey, Rolling Meadows Fire Department

Their conclusions were:

Our own organization was needed since secretaries in the Fire Service have problems and educational needs unique to their own profession. The organization should also have a close bond with the Illinois Fire Chiefs Assocation.

The need for educational opportunities in the Fire Service was found for enhancement of knowledge and value to the department.

A Board of Directors was then formed and Officers were appointed. The association has since grown from those ten secretaries to a proud membership of over 240 secretaries throughout the state.

Our Sponsors

To become a sponsor, please download the 
Business Website Sponsor Application.